The monetary unit of Turkmenistan is the manat, created in 1991 as a substitute for Soviet rouble in consequence of the proclamation of independence of the country. After an early period characterized by a certain instability, the trend of the new currency has become rather steady.
Identification codes representing manat according to international standards are TMM (TurkMen Manat) in the alphabetical version and 795 in the numerical version.
The manat is further subdivided into 100 tenge. At the moment in the country there are in circulation bank notes of 1, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 500, 1.000, 5.000 and 10.000 manats.
The current value of the currency is indicated in the special box about Exchange on the homepage.

Copyright © 2002 turkmenistan.it